Collateral Damage – Lynette Eason – Danger Never Sleeps #1 – Revell – Published 7 January 2020



Honorably discharged from the Army after an explosion nearly killed her, former military psychiatrist Brooke Adams has set up shop to help others–but her days of helping military personnel are over. She’s got her own battles to fight from her time overseas, and she’s not equipped to take on more. Former Army Special Ops Sergeant First Class Asher James could handle anything that war sent his way–terrorists, bombs, bullets. The only thing that scares him now is sleep. As the shadows close in, the nightmares begin.

Finally convinced that he needs help, Asher makes an appointment with a counselor, and Brooke is pressed by her boss to take him on. When he arrives at her office she isn’t there–but a dead body is. Brooke is devastated when she walks in, and Asher is a conveniently strong shoulder to cry on. But she can’t take him on as a client after sharing such an intimate and unprofessional moment, can she? And he’s not sure he can handle sharing his deepest fears with such a beautiful woman.

When it becomes clear that Brooke was the real target of the attack–and that her secrets go even deeper than his own–Asher vows to protect her no matter what.

My thoughts

There is so much to love about this suspense novel. Multiple storylines come together to reveal a complex plot that has a devastating impact. A team of highly trained professionals, from detectives and medical examiners and investigative journalists, to military men and women and psychiatrist, work together to uncover the threads of this international case. With two main characters that have a great chemistry as well as a heartbreaking connection via shared trauma, this romantic suspense novel is the perfect start to a new series.

Military psychiatrist Brooke Adams left the army after giving her all—and nearly her life—in Afghanistan. Now she is back on American soil and working again as a psychiatrist, she just no longer works with service men or women and struggles with her own traumatic memories and nightmares of the explosion she survived. So when she is assigned a session with former Army Special Ops Sergeant First Class Asher James, she is not sure how she is going to face the memories or the man who helped save her life. When Asher intercepts an attempt on Brooke’s life, the two team up to stay alive and discover how the current attacks fit in with their pasts.

There is a lot going on in this book. The story actually starts when Brooke and Asher are still serving in Afghanistan. The traumatic details of the bombs, explosions, death and loss really set the scene, both for the continuing action and also the characters’ shared trauma. Something that came across so well in this book was the depth of emotion, grief, loss and fear that the characters face. The nightmares, flashbacks and the fallout from these were all conveyed so strongly. It made it very easy to connect with Brooke and Asher and to understand why they would find in each other a shared understanding.

I really enjoyed the suspense and threads of mystery in Collateral Damage. Seemingly random events all come together to form a complex plot and there is never a dull moment (even the kissing scenes are exciting).

Collateral Damage is the first book in Lynette Eason’s new series Danger Never Sleeps and introduces readers to a cast of wonderful and scarred characters who I hope will grace the pages of subsequent books. With touches of family, friendship, and faith, Collateral Damage is a thrilling book with a big heart.

The publishers provided an advanced readers copy of this book for reviewing purposes. All opinions are my own.

More information

Category: Adult fiction

Genre: Christian – suspense.

Themes: War, military, PSTD, murder, crime, organ harvesting, orphans, Afghanistan, psychiatrists, romance, faith.

Advisory:  References to death, injury, terrorists, bombs, burns, organ harvesting, murder of children, grief, war.

Published: 7 January 2020 by Revell

Format: Hardcover, paperback, ebook, audiobook. 320 pages.

ISBN: 9780800737771

Find it on Goodreads