Skyfire – Michael Adams – Scholastic Press Australia – Published July 2016



Seven talented and driven teenagers from around the world have been selected by trillionaire Internet King Felix Scott to form an elite group of young people committed to help make a difference in the world. They meet at the ceremony announcing their selection, then their lives are bound together on a quest as they come to realise that each of them has been sent part of a code that predicts an unknown disaster.

My thoughts

Skyfire begins The Seven Signs series where seven young people are entangled in a dangerous and compelling mystery that puts the whole world in danger. It is fun, fast-paced and full of action.

Seven young people have entered a competition that is set to change their lives. As the winners, they are granted the chance to work with the internet and technology king Felix Scott. They are gifted the latest in phone technology, rides aboard space-skimmers and even one million dollars. But as they are named winners they become targets for a cruel and dangerous plot to destroy the world. They each receive a sign, which together they must decode before terror is unleashed on the world.    

This was a fun book to read. At first, being introduced to seven main characters at once was a little overwhelming but I soon had them sorted in my mind. Each of the seven is from a different continent and bring a variation in language, culture and background. The technology in this book is advanced, but not unbelievable, making a very cool addition to this story.

This book also includes map chapter headings, and a few illustrations to bring the symbols and countdown to life.

A tension-filled ending (almost a cliffhanger) will have readers eager for the next book in the series. And, luckily for those keen readers, this series will have a rapid release with all seven books released within 13 months.

This is a fantastic book for readers who like a bit of mystery, danger and adventure with their action.

The publishers provided a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

More information

Category: Children’s fiction.

Genre: Action/Adventure/Thriller

Themes: Technology, world continents, terrorism, crime

Reading age guide: Ages 10 and up.

Published: July – September 2016, Scholastic Press.

Format: Paperback. 192 pages.

ISBN: 9781743628010

Find it on Goodreads